This whole blog thing.

So, I’d like to start out by saying that I was never one of those people that thought that they would get into the whole blogging thing. When I think of blogging, the first thing that comes to mind is basically people just spilling their guts to the world- the good, the bad, the ugly, and the stuff that nobody gives a shit about. This is partially what has hindered me thus far from making a blog because, you know, who would really want to hear my unfiltered thoughts? I mean, come on, nobody is that bored, right?

However, my main reason for previously refraining from the whole blog scene (and I think that fellow writers would understand this) is that I have the bad tendency of becoming overly attached to my writing. I enter another world when I write and I selfishly want that world to be mine and only mine. Not to sound completely dramatic and totally cliché, but honestly when I allow someone to read what I’ve written I am inviting them into my world-and once they are there that opens up a whole mess of shit. They could poison my crops or kill all of my sheep or something…. metaphorically speaking of course…. apparently my world is a farm…. anyway, my point is that my writing is more than just a bit personal- it is me.

That being said, I’ve made a goal for myself for this coming year to get myself out there a bit as a writer and that’s how I’ve ended up on here. I have absolutely no idea what I am going to do with this blog- maybe I’ll put some poems up, maybe I’ll put a few short stories up and if I’m full of angst perhaps I will go on a rant about a topic that I find interesting. I am open to any and all suggestions at this point, throw me a bone.

2 responses

  1. It is pretty difficult to let someone into your own private world, I know! But it’s worth the risk, definitely. Remember the tools at your disposal: if you need to write but you don’t want anyone to know who you are, anonymous blogging keeps a barrier between them and your private world. So does comment filtering, and blogging privately so that only your friends and family (or people you allow) can see your writing. But I would encourage you to be brave. The constructive criticism has helped my writing immensely, and I know it will do the same for you.

    August 21, 2013 at 9:30 am

    • Thanks for your words of encouragement Derryn, they are greatly appreciated. As much as I would love to put up barriers with this sort of thing, I am determined to “be brave,” as you put it, and just be open about it. It is not constructive criticism that I worry about, in fact I welcome that, it helps me grow so much as a writer. Anyway, if you have any ideas or anything you’d like to share with me or any more suggestions you’d like to give let me know. Thank you for your feedback.

      August 22, 2013 at 3:51 am

Leave a Reply

