Getting into me

I am overthinking this whole blog thing. I think I like my writing, but each time I go to post something I’ve written, I suddenly hate it. Over time I believe that I will become more comfortable sharing my writing, however I feel like you need to get to know me a bit first.

Therefore, I had to ask myself how I would like to get to know someone or how I would like someone to get to know me.

“Well, Lauren,” I said to myself, “I have always found that a person’s taste in music says a lot about who they are as people.”

“Wow, what a great idea Lauren. You’re so wise.” I replied.

But all joking aside, I think that music can play a big role in developing and defining who we are as individuals- or at least it has for me.

I took the liberty of selecting a few songs and lyrics that I am especially attached to. Welcome to me.

 

A) One song that I have found myself attached to for years now is the song Who Needs Air by The Classic Crime. I am not sure if my analysis of the song is anywhere near correct, but to me the song is like a ballad of gratitude for the gift of life. That may be oversimplification, but it makes me feel very blessed.

B) “A universe is trapped inside a tear, it resonates the core.” Muse – I am a huge muse fan. Their lyricism isn’t always the best, but the layers in their music is beautiful and it really tells a story. I would highly recommend listening to the Exogenesis Symphony by them- its a three part, mostly instrumental, song and its gorgeous.

C) “The words of prophets are written on the subway walls, and tenement halls, and whispered in the sounds of silence.”- Simon and Garfunkel

D) “Do you still believe in all the things that you stood by before

Are you out there on the front lines or at home keeping score

Do you care to be the layer of the bricks that seal your fate?

Would you rather be the architect of what we might create?”

Rise Against

E) “If only I had an enemy bigger than my apathy, I could have won.”- Mumford and Sons– I have no words to express how much I love this song, and Mumford in general. This lyric in particular speaks to me in a different way than I think was intended. I think that it is meant as a reflection of the human struggle in having a lax nature- not having anyone or anything to raise their fist against. But then it made me think about what we define as an “enemy”. Because we each have different enemies, and we are all unique as individuals, I believe we each have a unique definition of what an enemy is. For example, in my mind an enemy is anyone who causes a disruption in the homeostasis of my life. Now, that can mean anything from people that cause a lot of drama to people that cause me to feel excessive affection toward them. That may sound odd, but oftentimes love is the most jostling thing in one’s life. The people that I love or will fall in love with are my worst enemies. My apathy and my love are often at war, but my enemy is never big enough.

So yeah… that one kind of turned in to a rant… I’m going to be done now.

F)  “And nothing I could ever write

Would help you understand this life

There’s so much beauty when your eyes

Lay lost in all the city lights

The wax will drip as so much blood

romance is dead and all is lust

You are the water in my lungs

we’ve lost it.”

Motionless in White

Leave a Reply

